You’ll need a license to carry (LTC) to legally carry a handgun in a concealed or open way in Texas. If you’re getting ready to go through the steps necessary to obtain your LTC in this state, you may be wondering what the general time frame is for this process. To give you a good idea of the answer to this question, the firearms safety education professionals from LTC Austin, a premier provider of Austin license to carry online classes, break things down by each of the steps involved with getting your LTC in Texas.
The Classroom Part
To obtain your license to carry in Texas, you’ll need to take a course that covers such things as state laws that apply to firearms, situational awareness, and gun safety basics. You can do this with an in-person class or complete a course online. The classroom part may range from 4–6 hours, and in-person instruction must be completed in one session. Online instruction, on the other hand, can be broken down into smaller segments.
Note: The LTC 100 is the document you’ll get after completing the required classroom instruction.
Demonstrating Shooting Proficiency
The average time to complete the proficiency test takes about an hour. After you complete the classroom part of the LTC requirements, you’ll need to demonstrate basic proficiency with using a handgun. Typically, you can expect to be asked to:
• Shoot 20 rounds at 3 yards
• Shoot 20 rounds at 7 yards
• Shoot 10 rounds at 15 yards
If you happen to be an experienced handgun user, you may be able to do your proficiency test on the same day the classroom instruction is completed to save time. If you’re a newer shooter, it’s recommended you wait to do the proficiency part so you can be more prepared and comfortable.
DPS Application & Fingerprints
This is a two-part process that starts with submitting the required Texas Department of Safety application. After you submit your application, you’ll make an appointment to have your fingerprints taken at an IdentoGO Center. The duration of this part of the process will vary based on how many people are at the center and similar factors.
Application Review Timeline
The Texas Department of Safety has up to eight weeks after all required documents have been received to either approve or deny your application for a license to carry. Typically, DPS makes every effort to provide a response within 60 days of receiving completed application packages.
If it has been longer than eight weeks since you’ve submitted your application materials, you’re welcome to make an online inquiry. Do this by visiting the DPS website to check the status of your application. Applications are usually approved if everything required has been submitted and you meet Texas and federal legal handgun ownership requirements. Possible reasons for application denial include having child support debt and certain legal issues.
When you’re ready to get your Texas LTC, make sure you choose a premier training provider. License to Carry Austin is committed to offering the best firearms training possible. When they need information on firearms safety or they want to take an Austin online LTC course, gun owners trust the expertise of the pros from LTC Austin. If you have questions about any aspect of gun ownership in Texas, give us a call today at 512-766-3039.